The Breakup Letters of 5 Famous Writers

oh.. oscar wilde.

Thought Catalog

Hell Hath No Fury: Women’s Letters from the End of the Affair chronicles the breakup letters of literature’s most renowned writers. Below, some highlights:

1. Simone de Beauvoir and Nelson Algren

Simone de Beauvoir had an affair with Nelson Algren that began in 1947 and, due to circumstances, developed into a long-distance relationship. De Beauvoir wrote this letter in 1950, on her way back to Paris from visiting Algren. An excerpt:

I shall not assume that you love me anew, not even that you have to sleep with me, and we have not to stay together such a long time—just as you feel, and when you feel. But know that i’ll always long for your asking me. No, I cannot think that I shall not see you again. I have lost your love and it was (it is) painful, but shall not lose you. Anyhow, you have me so much…

View original post 2,117 more words

Leave your comment :)

