I Hold On to Magic

“Grown-ups never understand anything by themselves, and it is tiresome for children to be always and forever explaining things to them.” – Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

One day I got really bored. I had finished reading the materials needed for class and gone through several interesting articles in the internet. I had done almost all the tasks in my “to do list” for that day and it felt like the internet wasn’t a source of entertainment anymore.

Al was already asleep and I wanted to have someone to talk to, so I decided to go to this chat site to blab about nonsensical things. The moment I got into the chatroom I received a buzz from one of the users.

The person on the other end was a 42-year-old-male who asked my age and location. I gave out my age and answered “Hogwarts” for my location. I never really tell where I am from because I feel better that way. Besides why give out that piece of information to a random stranger?

I wanted to say good bye to the man because what can I really talk about with someone 22 years older than I am? I would surely sound stupid or immature. However, the guy sent another message asking where in the world was Hogwarts? [I felt an urge to educate.]

I explained in the most courteous way possible that Hogwarts is in the Harry Potter Universe. He answered, “Oh come on! Will you be more serious? Magic doesn’t exist in real life”. [I left the conversation before I really say something and get into a heated argument.]

I am 20 years old and among my worst fears in growing up and becoming an adult is losing the magic in me. I have observed that as people get older most of them choose to leave behind what the Greeks call the “thaumazein” in their childhood– wonder. They get out of bed and do their routine, taking life as is–ordinary.

Grown-ups are so focused on their daily business that they tend to neglect the bigger picture and look from a distant. The adults always think that they got things figured out already, that they have seen more, and that they have known more. If that was so, then why does it seem that most of them aren’t happy with their lives?

They are so obsessed in proofs such as mathematical formula and scientific data which for them are the acceptable and logical way of explaining things. It is somehow funny that they always have science to back things up but they set aside magic. It is true that one’s existence is due to the union of the sperm and the egg cells– science; yet doesn’t it fascinate the adults that they could have been someone else if their father’s sperm got delayed by a millionth of a second? Isn’t it magic?

Letting go of the child within a person seemed to have been an imperative action to be accepted to adulthood. I believe though that everyone has the freedom to choose and that those before me decided to live in a universe without wands, wizards, broomsticks, centaurs, and hippogriffs. I prefer the world of Harry, Ron and Hermione–full of patronus.

Although each year a number is added to my age, that doesn’t mean that I will silence the “Little Prince” in me [or should I say the Little Princess]. Everyone has a choice, to keep the Little Prince in them or to let it go.

I don’t want to be like the majority of the people in the video below, thus, I opt for the former.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “I Hold On to Magic

  1. Happylifeaholic says:

    You, Max, are awesome. I have been feeling like this for a while now, and you just summed it all up eloquently. 🙂 Also, that kid is adorable.

Leave your comment :)

