The Birth of Max: Celebrating the First Year

Happy Birthday!

Wow! It’s been a year already since I created an account and established my WordPress blog. A year ago I decided to try out this site for the reason that my privacy was invaded in my other blog. Although I had a Blogspot account which by that time was at its sixth year already, I figured that maybe it was time to look for another space where there is more freedom to express myself. I wanted a place where I can hide but be public at the same time, hence the move in here.

My journey in this unfamiliar land began on February 22 of 2013. It wasn’t that easy to say good bye to my old blog and it wasn’t also that easy to navigate through this new one. Yes, I had to familiarize myself with the interface and learn the functions of each button. [I got the hang of it along the way.]

Over a one year period, this blog witnessed my ups and downs. Like some blogs, it became an extension of who I was and who I am. [It became my diary]. It might not contain the best written piece on the internet; it might not have inspired anyone who came across it; it might not be creatively laid out like other blogs; but it serves its purpose well– a haven where I can write and pour all my thoughts and experiences.

This is my little nook– a place where I can become who I want and what I want. It is true that outside the realm of social media, I am a whole different person. No, I am not pretending in this universe or in the world where I am in matter and form. It is safe to say that Max is just a reflection of myself– another me minus the flesh. But even if she’s just a mirror image of me it doesn’t make her story less true than mine. She also owns the experiences I went through and what is shared in here is also hers.

I made this blog and begotten Max not to personify my second self but to be like a glass jar or a glass box where I can put jelly beans, candies, gummy bears, cookies, fireflies, butterflies, flowers and other things. Hence, this little space and my other persona are actually clear containers where I pour all the contents of my being.

I am a sister, a daughter, a student, a friend, and other things to people. I play various roles depending on who one asks and different individuals would surely give complex description of who I am. I don’t want to be delineated in the character society assigned to me. In this performance called life, I want to evaluate myself to see who I truly am– the person that is not shackled by someone else’s definition. Thus, this little sanctuary and Max were born.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Birth of Max: Celebrating the First Year

  1. missL says:

    Congrats on the anniversary! That’s impressive.

Leave your comment :)

